Two months ago I arrived to the United States of America as part of an Exchange student program in a university of here. I was born in Ecuador, South America, and I have lived there my entire life.

Since I came, I had to go through a process of socialization in a new country with different customs. This is what we usually call “cultural shock”, new people in a new place, trying to fit and belong in a society with other kind of rules.

 

Most Latin American countries, maybe all, have a big difference with USA. Even though we share the same space of earth called America, one of them has a developed category, while the others are categorized as “third world”. We started to share the same history, America the promise land plenty of free space, conquered and populated by European people trying to start a new life, but somehow and in some point of our history, one of them became more powerful than the others.

 

In the last years, the increase of immigrants, coming Spanish-speaking countries in America made us, both Latinos and Americans, worry to know something about each other.

 

This is why, in this space, I will try to talk about some topics that are essential for a better understanding of us, as a collective, as a continent. What we do is the best or worst? Is our country better or not? That’s not the answer you will find here, is just a comparison of our cultures, which, I think, is necessary to know if we want to live in harmony.

DOS CULTURAS… DOS MUNDOS OPUESTOS

Hace mas o menos dos meses, llegué desde Ecuador hasta Estados Unidos con el propósito de estudiar la univeridad. Me enlisté en el programa de intercambios de mi universidad en mi país de orígen y fui escogida como una de las dos personas que llegamos a la Universidad de Mississippi para estudiar nuestro tercer año de universidad.

Desde que llegué, entré en un nuevo proceso de socialización. Todo era nuevo para mi, y el hecho de entender una cultura que no es la mia me hizo darme cuenta de que este “choque cultural” del que muchos latinos hablamos es verdadero y palpable. Por lo menos ahora lo estoy viviendo en carne propia.

La pregunta de por qué somos tan diferentes, viene siempre a mi mente. Desde cuándo hubo esa división que terminó separando al norte del sur de América. La respuesta históricamente está definida, algunos aprovecharon más que otros los recursos que el continente tenía. Parte de nuestras creencias radican en todo este proceso de colonización del que fuimos parte y del que ahora un gran abismo nos separa.

Somos dos mundos distintos habitando un sólo continente. Los desarrollados y los paises en “vías de desarrollo” , dos mundos que cada vez se entienden menos, pero que debido a este proceso de migración, es necesario que se entiendan más. este es mi objetivo al hacer este blog.

No quiero caer en la critica destructiva de una cultura u otra cultura, mi objetivo es dar a conocer, nuestras diferencias para que de una manera, nos lleguemos a conocer más. Porque siempre es necesario saber más acerca de quien vive a tu lado.

